info facebook LinkenIn youtube


2014 Innovation in Caregiving Award Winner

The Innovation in Caregiving Awards recognize individuals who, in the course of caring for an adult aged 60 or over in a private home or a residential setting, invent a device or technique that solves a caregiving challenge, or find a new application for an existing device or technique that supports caregiving and eases the burden on caregivers.

Marian AdlyThe award was presented at the 2014 Caregiving Conference and Luncheon held at the Conference Center at Benjamin Rose.

One device created by a caregiver was selected:

Adly Tray by Marian Adly

Our Judges

A panel of impartial judges reviewed the applications and chose three family caregivers to receive the Innovation in Caregiving Awards. The winner received a plaque and a check for $1,000.

Margaret Calkins, PhD, CAPS, EDAC, is President of I.D.E.A.S., Inc., and Chair of the Board of the IDEAS Institute, both of which seek to improve environments for elders through applied research, dissemination of evidence-based information and resources, and individual partnering with designers and care providers.

Diana L Morris, PhD, RN, FAAN, is an associate professor of nursing and associate director for programming at the University Center on Aging and Health, Case Western Reserve University. Dr. Morris's research interests include power and well-being in older adults, mental health in older adults, the well-being of family caregivers in the community, and long-term care.